Colorado - Durango (Purgatory Mountain Resort) July 2016

rla1022

Hello everyone. Been lurking on here for a while. Got a new 2015 Sahara in October. I love it. It is stock ,except a 1.75 leveling kit, and will likely remain that way.
We have booked a 7 day stay at a condo in Purgatory mountain village. I want to do as trails in the area that I can. Of course I was given the stipulation that no roads with steep drop offs (shelf roads). I am new to wheeling around and have not been off roading at all yet. I see lots of lists here asking about what trails and it seems that the hard ones are listed. I just want to take my wife, our daughter(10) and her BFF(10) to see some really cool views, fish, and maybe hike some, without have to worry about the shelf roads. I would love some suggestions.

rla1022

Thanks for the trail damage recommendation, I have been there many times. Is there a special way to only show trails with no shelf road? That is specifically what I am looking for.

GraniteCrystal

First, if you haven't got to the Give us a Wave forum and put a post there, start with that.

Second, no, not a way to do that that I know of. That's like filtering on the size of boulder you want in the trail or if there are wildflowers present or not. My advice is to look at the ratings on the right and stick with trails that are high on Scenery and low on Cliffs and Ledges. Look at all the pics too and you should be fine. Also, be aware that some roads are one way only so you're committed once you start.

rla1022

All Trails.COM - Site

You do realize that's primarily for hiking correct?
Did you use the link, or assuming? If you click on filter you can filter it down to off road vehicle trails. It allows the sorting capabilities that trail damage lacks. Still seem to need both for the more detail information. Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 12.04.53 PM.jpg

JoeB-JKURX

Sorting on the Trail Damage Website