Ripp Mods Cold Air Intake.

jesse3638

Hooked
Looking to install one of these because the PSC high volume reservoir requires a conical style airfilter due to the room it needs to be mounted. I like where its located as it appesrs to provide ample room to mount the reservoir vs. the competition. I'm looking for information from people running this style CAI. Not really looking for performance or mpg gains because I feel those will be negligible at best. I'm looking more for how protected it is, noise, and pros and cons of this CAI. Any information is appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Sorry, I have no experience with this CAI but, they're all pretty much the same. If you're needing to install a ram assist, I would get whatever you can make work. In a 2012-up, you really don't have too many choices.

My wife and I both run them. No noticeable performance gains but made room for the PSC kit. Easy to install and give you plenty of room afterward.

jesse3638

Hooked
Sorry, I have no experience with this CAI but, they're all pretty much the same. If you're needing to install a ram assist, I would get whatever you can make work. In a 2012-up, you really don't have too many choices.

Thanks that was kinda my thought. I was looking at this particular one because of the room it offers plus it appears to be more protected from the possiblity of water vs. an "open" conical style.

Ok sounds good. What ever you can offer up would be great thanks.

Ok here are some pics if mine installed. You can get a sense for room available and overall install.

Overall I've been happy with it. The biggest complaint is it doesn't handle high high dusty stuff as good as the box units. I mean its easy enough to clean but it seems to get bad a lot sooner.

I have been running mine since Nov last year and have had 0 issues.

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1379892070.312362.jpg

ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1379892083.177931.jpg