What all do I need in a lift kit?

JKBlackie

I'm still a newb when it comes to a lot of mods on my Jeep, That's why I'm here! To learn from you genius's!

I was just browsing at some different suspension lift kits, and I see some that just have longer coils and upgraded shocks and I see others with long or short arms, and I see some suspension lift kits that are $250 up to some long arm kits that are more like $1500. I was wondering if you guys could help me understand the differences and the things I would need in a kit.

I am very open to correction and teaching because I know very little about this stuff.
Thanks for helping me out!

hlax2525

It all depends on the type of wheeling you are going to be doing. If it is light wheeling and more just to get lift to fit bigger tires I would run a budget boost kit. If you are going to be doing some heavier wheeling, one of the most popular kits I have heard about at the moment is the evo enforcer. From there people then move to long arms usually and then coilovers, but that's besides the point. Most normal lift kits will come with coils, front lower control arms, longer sway bar end links, longer break lines and other items. Heavier duty lift kit will come with more control arms and track bars and other fun stuff.
Now if you plan to do some heavy duty wheeling and high speed in the desert, I would say long arms and bolt on coilovers are a good place to start. Now all of these mods will need to have axle and gear upgrades as well. Shoot me a pm if you have any more questions

jeeeep

Hooked
some money, ummm more money and then some more money after that...then you have to decide where you want to go and have fun!! oh you'll need more money for that :beer: :crazyeyes:

aemery

some money, ummm more money and then some more money after that...then you have to decide where you want to go and have fun!! oh you'll need more money for that :beer: :crazyeyes: