Name that noise. Any ideas?

WINGER

Not sure what the deal is but I have developed a weird noise from my engine bay after donuts in mud and water fording. I am far from a mechanic and live an hour plus away from a dealer so any help would be appreciated. The video
starts with the engine running then stopping, starting and some 4k rpm hits. Any ideas on what that noise is would be helpful so I don't get hosed by the dealer. Thanks in advance Guys!!!

jeeeep

Hooked
1. your starter is not disengaging all the way - look and see if there's mud packed up in there

2. your fan - did you hose off behind the radiator? mud tends to pack up in that area as well

3. there is no 3, stop mudding! :cheesy:

WINGER

1. your starter is not disengaging all the way - look and see if there's mud packed up in there

2. your fan - did you hose off behind the radiator? mud tends to pack up in that area as well

3. there is no 3, stop mudding! :cheesy:

Thanks, I will check out 1 and 2, as for 3 my girlfriend wont be happy...lol

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
Since you're not aware of this, it is REALLY BAD to play in the mud like you just have with a cold air intake. I can't tell for sure what I'm hearing in the video clip or at least from my phone but if it's a fast knocking, you probably took water in the motor and bent a rod.

WINGER

So I checked all around and no mud caked up near or in the starter and fan. I pressure washed it right away seeing AZ dirt turns to concrete. Why don't go mudding with an air intake? Thanks again.

WINGER

I had the gopro on the night the sound started. Here is the video of the mudding and water fording I did. As you can see it wasn't anything that hardcore for mudding. So if it is water damage would the Jeep still run? Is there anything I can check to verify? Again I appreciate your insights and help.

jeeeep

Hooked
check your oil, if it looks milky or foamy you may have some water.