Dual Battery Tray

baldymcd

OK, got 1/4 pounder bumper done and I am not joking, my wife came out and told me as I was tightening bolts that the state tax return came earlier than expected. This means that I can now move on to installing dual batteries to support the winch for said bumper.

Have a 2011 JK and am looking at Rugged Ridge and Smittybilt for side by side trays. Anybody have input as to which I should choose? Am I wrong with these options? Will be running Optima batteries.

THANKS!

Peak

From what I've been told the best is made by genesis. And I'd stay away from optimas...

baldymcd

i'd rather have it and not need it. plan on doing some lights, power inverter (sp?), maybe compressor if i go with air lockers so it's also a down the road decision no pun intended.

Peak

please elaborate, i'm new to this.

A few years ago Optima was bought by a larger company and as always when this happens their quality of their battery fell dramatically. I would look into a Odyssey, Die Hard, or even a Duralast AGM battery.

baldymcd

A few years ago Optima was bought by a larger company and as always when this happens their quality of their battery fell dramatically. I would look into a Odyssey, Die Hard, or even a Duralast AGM battery.

agm was requirement for me so if it's not optima that rules out smittybilt. looking at genesis setup right now.

Last edited:

sapco76

I think what the op meant, is what battery mount/tray he should go with. The rugged ridge or smitybilt. Correct me if I'm wrong

jkwebbie

I'm partial to DieHard batteries. That's what I have in my Jeep and truck and thats what my family has used and have never had a problem with them. But I've never ran I winch off of mine, just my LED light bar.

Yeep

This...

I used to run them in a bunch of vehicles... Got tired of them shitting out every summer.

I like the Odysseys and have heard good things about the die hard platinums ( I think they may be made by odyssey but not 100% sure)

Kpalas