So what is a good "crawl ratio"?

NevadaZielmeister

Caught the Bug
Gentlemen,

So after taking my new build out yesterday and crawling over/up some rocks, I noticed that it crawls almost TOO slow. Now being a total newb, I cannot think what is a good crawl ratio. So I decided to look it up with this link: http://www.4lo.com/calc/gearratio.php . I figured with an automatic 5 speed (W5A580) first gear ratio of 3.59:1, transfer case ratio of 4:1 and differential ratio of 5.38:1, I get a crawl ratio of 77.26:1. I have really no idea whether this is a good crawl ratio or not. I have questions like:

Does the automatic transmission change the crawl ratio? I ask this because I noticed that my RPM's at 2,500 gave me a solution of 3.5 MPH but I am pretty sure it was more like 2 MPH on the trail. I was using a GPS to determine my speed and am not sure if this is a good measurement.

With the 2012 and up current JK's, what is a good crawl ratio? Can you have too high of a crawl ratio?

I am hopeful that this thread can help people when they re-gear to really think about what the JK is doing when it is crawling. Yes, we all hear about how important it is to re-gear for on-road performance, but what about off-road? I mean, that was why I bought a JK. My experience is that on-road performance suffers a bit while going up hill, but really suspect that it is the shear additional weight of the rig after the build is what is causing the lack of uphill power. Other than that, the rig is really fun to drive around and I love how well the ProCal fixed any shift point issues. When I hear about 100:1 and 200:1 crawl ratios, I get worried that maybe there is no real apples to apples comparison. I suspect that we are talking then about actual motor torque and then subjectivity.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Edit: I am running 37 inch Nitto Trail Grapplers, just an FYI.

Last edited:

swampdog