Swapping springs with a TF leveling kit

BaddestCross

Hi all. I just bought my 2008 2-door Rubicon about a month ago. I'm still learning about it and trying to decide what I want to do to make it my own. It has what I think is a TerraFlex 2" leveling kit on it now. I used the stock measurement diagram floating around the forum to test it, and I've got 1.5" above stock now with an aftermarket bumper and winch installed. My question is, can I swap out the Mopar springs with 3" (or 2"?) Plush Rides without changing any other parts or is there more I need to do?

My Rubi is currently on 285/70s, but I'm thinking I want to move up to 35s when they wear down. Suggestions/advice is appreciated.

EDIT: Also, would I leave the TF spacers in place with new springs since the sway arm link was extended (I believe... How would I make sure?) or remove them because I changed the springs. Can you tell I'm new to all this yet? 😎

Last edited:

Napalm

I'm trying to figure out exactly what you're asking. I'd like to help!

Are you wanting to change out the Mopar spring and TF spacer for a plush ride coil? Or just change out the spring and leave the coil spacer in?

Napalm

I think I understand now that I read your edit.

If it were me, on a 285/70, I'd swap out the TF coil spacer and stock Mopar spring for a 2" EVO Plush Ride coil. It'll give you a much better ride! If you put a 2inch plush ride plus the TF spacer, you'll net a lot more height than you'll want with that size tire.

Even when you upgrade to 35s, you'll be okay with the 2" plush ride coil. If you wheel, you might need to trim your fenders but it will keep your center of gravity low and it will look good. Need pictures? Here you go.
35s with EVO 2inch Plush Ride in the front and 3/4 spacer in the rear.
ImageUploadedByWAYALIFE1473561902.429071.jpg