Let's talk Roll Overs (and their prevention)

Chiromancer

So, I was out in my stock JKUR on some mostly tame trails this past weekend and had quite the fright as I slid sideways down an short embankment.

Never rolled or even payed down on the side, but it sure felt like it was close! Well, this got me thinking. I'm new to owning a jeep and other than some 3-wheeling as a kid in flat SW Florida, had little experience in 4x4 territory.

I started looking online and on YouTube, and there isn't much on the topic of roll over prevention. Obviously good lines and responsible driving will help, but what exactly is the best techniques to use while driving.

Specifically, I've seen conflicting reports on "speed up" vs "slow down" but in the videos, there is usually a high amount of wheel spin and them the vehicle catches a bite and the driver gets a new perspective to look at the world thrust upon him. I hope to never roll, but it is a hazard in this realm and there isn't a lot of talk I've seen on it. So, I'm hoping we can start a discussion and some people can share some wisdom.

wayoflife

Administrator
Staff member
First off, you need to understand that it ALWAYS feels worse inside your Jeep than it often is really bad. Having a spotter is the single best thing you can have to prevent a tip or roll as they will be able to help you know when you are in fact going too far.

Having said that, rule number one is to keep your hands and feet inside. This is near impossible to do as your instincts will tell you otherwise but, it needs to be said just the same.

Rule number 2, turn toward the fall. Just like sliding on ice, turning into the side you are starting to drop in will help prevent it, buy you a bit more time and/or give you more options.