I am a newbie, and would like to pick your brains about upgrades.

a-OK_in_my_JK

So I just bought my first Jeep, which is a 2007 Wrangler Sahara. I absolutely love it, however managed to get myself stuck in the snow today. What light headed in for low to get myself unstuck, and the wheel was cranked, I broke one of the ball joints. Now that I'm sitting here waiting for the record, I am thinking about all the other ways I could have got myself unstuck. Had I had slightly larger grabbier tires, or a winch, I would not be in this predicament. So once my bank account recovers from whatever it's going to cost to have the record come up and drag my ass off the mountain, I need ideas for the most cost-effective ways of being a little more off-road worthy, when the going gets snowy, or muddy.

Sent from my LG-H918 using WAYALIFE mobile app

Welcome to WAL. Totally depends on what you’re going to be doing in your Jeep. But if you’re just looking to have a bit more capable rig on a budget, without going overboard, I would suggest a good set of MT tires (like a Cooper STT or Nitto Trail Grappler) and maybe an inexpensive rear locker, like a Detroit for example. A winch and recovery gear are both something you should have as well.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

Bear_JT

Hooked
I second the advice from Mike_JK_Houston_711. A good set of MT tires helps a lot! The Cooper STT Pros are awesome and then the Nitto Trail Grapplers. I’ve ran both and like them in that order. Carrying a shovel is always a good idea with other recovery gear. I invested in a Krazy Beaver Tool and really like it.

jeffj

Caught the Bug
Welcome, like mike said, it really depends on your goals for your Jeep. It helps to decide what the end result is so your not throwing good money at bad. But a winch and recovery gear probably would of got you out of that situation, if you like play alone.

WJCO

Meme King