Overheating issues

kawimoto

2015 jku, I'm a gauge watcher by trade and I cant help but notice my jeep runs incredibly hot. it likes to run around 220 most of the time but its backwards to what youd think. doing 70 today down the highway it got to a whopping 332! it actually cools off when I come to a stop at a light. it fluctuates rather erratically and seems as though the thermostat isn't opening up. I cant tell if the fans are kicking on or not. wheeling the other weekend at rausch it did pretty well staying around 210-215. still though it seems hot to me. ideally these engines should be around 200-205 normal op temp id think. correct me if im wrong. jeeps got 60k on it and its automatic, 5.13 gears. tranny temp looks good and holds 170-175 all the time. coolant isn't low or leaking and everything seems to check out that would be obvious. no signs whatsoever, no coolant smell either. thinking ill change the thermostat and housing just to see if that's the issue as ive seen people have hairline cracks and or pinhole leaks in theirs. just tired of cranking the heat to get it to come down, even then though it only drops about 10 degrees off on a hot day. I was still having this issues when it was 20 degrees out, granted took longer obviously to get up to temp but nonetheless still got incredibly hot. it seems load related. going uphill for sure gets it extremely hot fast. going downhill itll drop very quickly to 200-206 or so as well.

tengland

Perhaps you've got a lot of dust buildup on the radiator fins and a good power wash might help?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

kawimoto

ive tried that, thought it might help but was skeptical as the radiator wasn't really dirty at all...

J

JKDream

ive tried that, thought it might help but was skeptical as the radiator wasn't really dirty at all...
Its normal unless your hot oil light is coming on. Even says so in the manual. These motors run really hot for efficiency.

kawimoto