Trailering a JK - Gooseneck or bumper pull...

Mikead40

I was just wondering if any of you out there that have trailered your JK have any strong opinions as to whether a bumper pull or a gooseneck is better. I'm in the process of moving far far away from the good offroading destinations but will be making annual or biannual treks to moab and other spots out west. I just purchased a ram diesel pickup to be a daily driver and Jeep hauler, but I'm unsure about which direction to go with the trailer. I am admittedly a complete novice when it comes to trailers - knowledge of them and driving them - so any advice, pros and cons of the different types, which would be easier for a "beginner" etc would be much appreciated. Thanks! :beer:

Last edited:

Jeep2010

More or less depends on the trailer. If it's just your jk then you'd be fine using a hitch instead of a 5th wheel or gooseneck. Just an FYI, I don't own a truck and never have but I sell Rams and see gooseneck and 5th wheels for heavier loads or a certain trailer so I'm not an expert but just my thoughts.

metalic

I was just wondering if any of you out there that have trailered your JK have any strong opinions as to whether a bumper pull or a gooseneck is better. I'm in the process of moving far far away from the good offroading destinations but will be making annual or biannual treks to moab and other spots out west. I just purchased a ram diesel pickup to be a daily driver and Jeep hauler, but I'm unsure about which direction to go with the trailer. I am admittedly a complete novice when it comes to trailers - knowledge of them and driving them - so any advice, pros and cons of the different types, which would be easier for a "beginner" etc would be much appreciated. Thanks! :beer: