Rusted and tired gas tank skid

deadguy

I am on the fence of what to do with my gastank skid for my jk. I'm still running the OEM skid but it has seen better days. Being on the east coast it has seen its fair share of salty spray. It's actually starting to peel apart and rot out in some spots, and dragging it over rocks is not helping the situation. For anyone that's been in this boat, what have you done? New oem? Aftermarket? Relocation[emoji57] ? Just trying to see my options

Sent from my XT1096 using WAYALIFE mobile app

NecessaryEvil

Caught the Bug
Well you would probably benefit from a thicker skid plate for longevity, so I would probably replace with an aftermarket skid. I have no experience with aftermarket. However, I don't think I will by a oem one if the time ever comes to replace the old one.

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

danco3636

Rockhards site doesn't say if it "replaces" or bolts over the existing. I'm running rock hard skids for the engine/trans so I would like to use their skid if it's a full replacement.

I don't think it is replacement. I just order their aluminum one and I am pretty sure it goes over the stock one.

I have engine, tranny and transfer case on as well. My gas tank skid was taking a beating as well.

danco3636

Rockhards site doesn't say if it "replaces" or bolts over the existing. I'm running rock hard skids for the engine/trans so I would like to use their skid if it's a full replacement.

Just watched the install video. It goes over it. They say you can remove it before install if you need to and pound it out straight and touch it up before install.

Thank you all for looking at our skids - and thanks to WJCO for the PM about the thread.