Close

Been Around the Block phillypete's Avatar

Legality of unmarked dirt roads

I'm fairly new to off roading, and now that I have a capable vehicle I am noticing a bunch of unmarked dirt roads around town.

If there isn't a "no trespassing" or a gate is it safe to assume it is ok to travel on such trails?

Nothing but a Thing
    What I want to say is just do it.....but
    The correct answer is no it is not safe to assume you can wheel any dirt road that is not marked with a no trespassing sign. Ignorance of the law does not excuse type of thing. Also, this type of thing can create a negative image of jeepers and four wheelers. Gives the hippies more firepower to close more land down to overlanders lol

Been Around the Block phillypete's Avatar

Well I will say that this is South Carolina, so legit dirt roads aren't all that rare. As a matter of fact I know of a four way stop sign at the intersection of two dirt roads. Also we don't have any hippies.

But, this being South Carolina, rural property owners are best considered well armed and proficient.

Quote Originally Posted by phillypete View Post

But, this being South Carolina, rural property owners are best considered well armed and proficient.
    That is the key!

I spent quite a bit of time in the mountains of North Carolina and where I grew up in back wast the law was not your main concern.
    2012 Jeep Wrangler

It doesn't hurt to ask around about a particular road and you might discover something. Don't take the first opinion though they might be wrong..the county land office will probably know more than anyone since they tax the land..
    Good luck..

I say take it I've found some really neat abandon things from houses buildings cars trackers mud pits. My fave was an old school that I had to cut threw 3 fields to get there. I talk to the farmers the next day and none of them new it was there.

Knows a Thing or Two JKU EXTREME's Avatar