Need help diagnosing this noise, please!!

ouroborus2012

Ok guys...I've searched and searched and I thought I had this ridiculous noise narrowed down to the "water pump chirp" .. So, I finally got around to changing the water pump and low and behold, the noise persists!! I now think it is somewhere in the undercarriage and it sounds like it's in the tranny area, but the acoustics make it difficult to tell. I just changed the tranny fluid today to eliminate AT LEAST that part! And it's still there... I dunno if it's a bearing or what. I'm still learning :thumb:

Could some of you knowledgeable fellers take a listen and give me some thoughts? I'm at a loss. It's quite annoying and concerning me now that it appears to be transmission related. Thanks in advance!!

My original recording was terrible, but I found this one which is 100% what mine sounds like

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3EuBRBkq5k

Thanks folks!!

Does it go away when you press the clutch pedal?

Sent from my iPhone using WAYALIFE mobile app

nope, doesn't go away with pressing the clutch. The noise stays both in gear and in neutral. Got underneath and listened REAL good today and it's definitely inside the transmission housing. What would make that noise in there?? It's right at the very front of the tranny.

If you look at where he's filming in his video, that's the exact spot that it's strongest and i assume the source

Last edited:
What did the trans oil look like? Any nasty filings in it? Is the gearbox behaving exactly it always has?

What did the trans oil look like? Any nasty filings in it? Is the gearbox behaving exactly it always has?

the tranny fluid actually looked quite nice! There were definitely filings on the magnet, but they were all just small "shavings", for lack of a better term. It's acts perfectly fine minus that annoying noise